| present | past | conversate | host | guestbook|





2002-05-23
11:27 a.m.

Lana feelsThe current mood of xengirl at www.imood.com

Sometimes everything comes together. This has been one of those weeks. Today I had double french, which is usually torture except that she's there. But even so it's torturous. Just in a slightly more enjoyable fashion. Today, though, we convinced Julian on the spur of the moment that we should all go to Java Joes. And off we went. I bought us drinks, which I realize means absolutely nothing in the grander scheme of things but which still was with the making of the flutteries. In Willow-speak. And we piqued each other in the car on the way there and back. (Pique - to poke and make a high-pitched noise) And then when we got back we chased each other around the back of the bar fork laughing and tickling. Which was a definite high point for my lack of verbal skills. This girl has the most beautiful eyes, especially when she laughs. It gives a whole new meaning to the idea of "her face lights up." Really. So it was a good morning.

I got into the University of Chicago biology program for the summer, which is just wonderfully amazing and triumphant. I'm really going to do it. I'm going to spend four weeks doing something that I really love, on an intellectually challenging level, without distractions from French or Literature or History papers. Much as I love those things in their own rights, I'm a great fan of intensity. Concentration. Not having to juggle seven assignments a night. Just concentrating on the matter at hand, the interesting stuff, the tofu of the matter. Bad puns.

Lera showed up in the dorm last night. I didn't recognize her at first, because of the not-wearing of my glasses, and I wasn't exactly expecting her to be walking up the hall as I was walking down it to use the phone. But there she was, as I realized when she got close enough for me to kind-of see her and then she said my name and there was a shriek, some squealing, and hugging, complete with unquenchable smile. I really liked her and wish I heard from her more, so it was great to see her.

And of course, there's the haircut, but we've been over that. Let's just say that it adds to the triumph and the well-roundedness of everything getting better. I'm happy, school is almost over, and it will be an amazing summer. Life is good.



| once before | notes | once after |









... design by bri...